I just wanted to drop a message to pass on some lovely feedback from our NHS speech and language consultant and a educational psychologist that visited our son at school whilst in Reception class . They had both said how fantastic and lovely all the staff are within the class and how we really couldn't of picked a better school for our son to go to. I couldn't agree more!

Mrs Barlow

We are truly happy that our son enjoys going to school, learning new things each day and has such brilliant teachers around him that provide time and encouragement for his future improvements to continue. A truly great foundation has been laid and we are forever grateful.

Mrs Amos

EYFS Curriculum:

Learning Through Play

In the Early Years, learning takes place through carefully planned, play-based learning opportunities, both inside the classroom and also in our specially designated outdoor area. The EYFS curriculum has been designed with seven areas of learning and development in mind. These seven areas of learning are grouped into two strands, 'prime' and 'specific'.

The Three Prime Areas of Learning and Development:

These lay down the foundation for all children's learning, ensuring that children are able to relate to others, communicate effectively, and engage with their environment. The prime areas are dependent on each other and are universal in that they occur within all cultures and social backgrounds.

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language

The Four Specific Areas of Learning and Development:

These can be introduced flexibly but cannot be developed alone; they build on the development gained through the prime areas. The specific areas reflect individual children's life experiences, including their cultural and social background. Practitioners will be able to plan for children's next steps in the specific areas through their observations and knowledge of children's likes, dislikes, and through regular feedback and communication from families.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Alongside these seven areas of learning and development, the EYFS curriculum focuses on the way children learn. This is called The Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning. Roughly speaking, they tell us that children are learning when they are:

  • Playing and Exploring: How engaged they are in an activity.
  • Active Learning: How motivated they are.
  • Creating and Thinking Critically: How they develop their thinking.

The essence of this curriculum will still be fundamental to your child's learning, but the way in which staff prioritise each area will also reflect the way in which some children may have been impacted by the lockdown period and the rules of social distancing.

There will be an even greater emphasis on the prime areas of learning, particularly personal, social and emotional development and well-being.

Play will still be a critical tool at this time to allow children to act out and make sense of what they have experienced over the last few months and how they have seen people's behaviour change.

EY staff will be warm, responsive, and sensitive to what they observe in play and respond with appropriate talk and questioning.

If you have any questions, please continue to communicate with school through the links on this website.

Rose wanted to show me her phonemes and to read her book and she has done this each day since she started. We both wanted to say thank you for your amazing teaching , it's incredible the progress she has made in such a short time and that's obviously down to your teaching .She has gone from no interest at all to telling me all about her day and each phoneme she has learnt when she comes out of the classroom.

EYFS (Reception)

Updated: 26/04/2024 1.40 MB
Updated: 14/08/2023 371 KB